World Environment Day

5 June is world environment day. However, I felt that I have not been doing much to help the environment. Been wasting quite a lot of electricity nowadays and also not recycling or reducing the amount of wastage at home.

I tried not to eat meat but someone always cook meat for both lunch and dinner. I felt that I need to reduce the amount of meat intake. I know I can do it as I rarely eat meat for my meals at my ex-workplace and I will try not to eat some much meat at the workplace. Reducing meat intake too.

Not much free meals at my current workplace but I cannot complain much.

This year theme for World Environment Day is Biodiversity. But how many people will know that 5 June is assigned as World Environment Day by WHO?
Not much I guess. I got to know it via one club. Glad to know that. Haha.

Guess I will try to mark 5 june as World Environment Day on my calendar yearly.

By the way, what is Biodiversity?
Bio means life. Diversity means variations of different species. So now, you should know the meaning of Biodiversity which is this year’s theme. Many species are living one 1 planet Earth.

Some of the species have been extincted. Some are endangered. It is not just animals who are facing this problems. Some species of plants are also disappearing as people cut down trees for timber (for $$ and for living). Some plants are needed to make medications or herbs for treatment. Or clear land for building or agriculture. So what can we really do to save the Earth?

Ice-caps are melting and those adorable baby polar bears will be homeless unless they stay in the zoos but they will lose their own abilities to search for food and survival instincts may be lost as they are not trained in a totally different habitat. (baby polar bears are very cute).

Some animals lost their habitat due to the human development of the animals’ natural habitat into a urban city. For example crows now fly to our neighbourhood to make noise as they lost their habitat. My mum felt the crow’s croaking voice was horrible and disturbing.

People should have seen advertisement on Saving Gaia. I should also save Gaia too. Have you? I am planting to grow 1 tree or more in spore but I do not have much money. Hope I will fulfil my wish of growing a tree (preferably a fruit tree with nice fruits). Haha.

As people can see that 313@somerset and city square mall in singapore are green buildings which promotes green in the environment.

Let’s do our part to make a world a better place to live. and be more environment green.

That’s all folks. Hope people will work together to build a better environment. Let’s reflect and save Gaia.

Leave a Reply

