Go Red for Women Picnic Day at Sengkang

This is my 1st time attending Go Red for Womens event for this picnic day today afternoon at Sengkang Kite Field. But this is not my 1st time coming for Singapore Heart Foundation event as I attended  their heart day events at different parts of Singapore. I was wearing red t-shirt for this event. =)

What is Go Red for Women? It is about women or females. A campaign to promote cardiovascular health to women as many people had misconception that only men will have cardiovascular disease, which is not true. For more information, please visit www.goredforwomen.org and www.goredforwomen.sg

I lost my way as I went to the wrong road but I still remembered the prominent landmarks near the area which is Anchorvale CC and the Hockey stadium. While on the way to the venue, I saw some interesting banners along the way. That Red dress is the logo for Go Red for Women. I remembered I did donated $2 to buy this badge a few years ago.

There was quite a lot of exciting activities there. People can picnic, do kite-flying (includes 1 of the largest kites to be flown in Singapore), enjoy great music by The Next Movement and King Kong Jane, Lucky draw, free health screening (Blood Pressure check, height, weight and fat analysis only), do some Stretchfitt exercise as well as redeem goodie bag for female registrants.

Got my goodie bag too. The goodie bag consists of picnic mat, kite, some healthy food products such as cereal, noodle and milk powder, and some other items, SHF newsletter as well as my favourite magazine – Cleo. Haha. =)Accidentally took it together with my home umbrella (it was raining while on my way to Anchorvale).

The event was graced by one of the MPs, Ms Penny Low and she gave such an inspiration speech. I personally felt that women should take charge of their health when they are still young and we have to be aware of that. Cardiovascular disease is the number 1 killer for women.

Of course, I enjoyed the Stretchfit exercise segment (by the Amore Fitness) the most as I could see the instructors doing the exercise while following them on how to do those stretches although i did some of the steps wrongly. Stretchfit is a type of exercise that incoporate yoga moves with stretches. It was a great workout as it helps to stretch some of my body muscles. Exercise is good for health and make people feel more relax and happy!

I also did my health screening too since I was there. As well as enjoying the great songs sung.

As a woman, I would start we better start to be aware of what we eat and our lifestyle. Women have a higher chance of developing heart disease when they reach menopause stage than men. Isn’t scary?

What are cardiovascular diseases? It can be heart problems such as heart failure, coronary arteries blockage which may cause heart attacks. High blood pressure is also not good for our body as it will cause some problems too as well as stroke.

So hope you all regardless of your gender, and start making the right choice to prevent health problems from occuring. As what everybody knows, prevention is better than cure. For me, I have my Blood pressure checked at least 1x yearly. No harm doing that.

I better start watching my diet as well as do exercises to keep myself fit. That’s all folks.

Leave a Reply

