My railway track walking adventures part IV

Welcome back to my KTM railway track walking adventures part IV in Singapore. This post is the continuation of my KTM railway track walking adventures part III in Singapore. This blog post will be starting from Buona Vista area till Bukit Timah – Clementi Woodlands.

As I walked under the tracks under Commonwealth Avenue West Road, I knew that I was reaching Holland HDB flats. Walked past an area that was very near  Buona Vista Bus Terminal (where 1 of my favorite bus 48 goes there – Haha)

Pardon, if my pictures were not as well taken due to rushing to complete as much distance for the journey. The picture was taken near the Civil service college.

There are so many overhead bridges connecting from one side of the train track to the other side of the train track. (The HDB flats should be at Ghim Moh area while the other side should be North Buona Vista Road with more private houses).

A vacant school? Near Mount Sinai area. It should be the old Raffles Junior College (RJC) before it shifted to Bishan.

Approaching another landmark soon… There’s a white ‘bridge’ ahead.

And that landmark building is ….

Cold Storage at Jelita (near Holland Road). Too bad no short cut way to go there and shop for food & water.

Now going under Holland Road…

Houses at the right side of the track. Look there’s another bridge ahead. I wondered where this bridge will link to.

I really do not know where the bridge leads to…

Should be reaching clementi woodlands soon as well as bukit timah station.

Into Clementi Woodlands…

It looks like there is a path leading to somewhere. I am not sure whether it was the path towards the old Jurong Line (I heard Jurong Line was partly dismantled).

I always thought that the area opposite Ngee Ann Polytechnic is a forested area for training the army people from the Maju Camp but I did not know that the fact there there was indeed malayan railway passing by in the Clementi woodlands area.

So many wooden planks. These maybe the dismantled tracks.

Reached the multiply tracks area. So happy. I heard the Jurong Line used to operate from Bukit Timah Line to send raw materials from Malaysia to Jurong Port area but the Jurong Line was closed due to low usage.

Multiple tracks are used for the trains to park at the station while waiting for the next train from the opposite direction to pass the area as most of the train tracks are travelling on a single rail system.

Bukit Timah Station. It was used as a looping station and mechanical lever were used for the signalling for the trains. It was also the place where the station master exchanged key token with the train driver. Right Now, people cannot enter this area.

The station sign at Bukit Timah Station at 772.75 Km away from butterworth.

Of course, I did put my feet on the wooden plank. I even attempted to bare foot on the track at Bukit Timah only (but wont be showing my bare foot due to my bad suntan)

Approaching near Bukit Timah Road… Near the Truss Bridge between Bukit Timah Road & Dunearn Road.

Shall end my part IV of the post here. Next part of the post will be between the 2 Truss Bridges from Rifle Range Road to The Rail Mall.

For recaps of my past KTM railway track walking adventures in Singapore, feel free to click the links below:

1. My KTM railway tracks walking adventures in Singapore part I

2. My KTM railway tracks walking adventures in Singapore part II

3. My KTM Railway track walking adventures in Singapore part III

4. My KTM railway track walking adventures in Singapore part V

5. My KTM Railway track walking adventures in Singapore part VI (from the Iron Truss Bridge near the Rail Mall to the 2nd Crossing near Ten Mile Junction)

6. My KTM Railway track walking adventures in Singapore part VII (from Ten Mile Junction to level crossing at Sungei Kadut road)

Stay tune for more updates!

5 thoughts on “My railway track walking adventures part IV

  1. Pingback: My Railway track walking adventures part III « Blending our lives with different colours

  2. Pingback: My Railway track walking adventures part II « Blending our lives with different colours

  3. Pingback: My railway track walking adventures part V « Blending our lives with different colours

    • Hi Teck Yi,

      Thank you for reading my blog.

      No. I did not manage to walk the whole 26km of track. part of the tracks from tanjong pagar to spooner road area was sealed off. Part of the train tracks are still in used due to the woodland checkpoint. my friend went up to 759.75km mark and it was sealed off. I only walked till 761km mark and did not go on further due to time constraint & I had to rush off for other programme then. Missed out the swampy parts of the northern singapore.

      Alwaysblend.

Leave a Reply

