My railway track walking adventures part VI

Truss bridge near the Rail Mall

Welcome back to my railway track walking adventures part VI (6). This part of the journey will be from the Rail Mall till the 2nd crossing located near Bukit Panjang – Ten Mile Junction. Sorry for the lacking of updates as I was busy with other things.

This part of the journey started on another day at the Rail Mall as it was too late to trek all the way from Tanjong Pagar to Kranji area as it was 6.30pm and the sky was getting dark if chose to continue the journey then. The Rail Mall is a place where people can rest and makan (eat). It is located near Dairy farm and Salvation Army at Bukit Panjang area.

Wait a minute. Did I mentioned about Bukit Panjang? Yes,  it locates near the Rail Mall. There is a famous landmark there along the railway track. Its logo is blue and green in colour and every year this company is always the title sponsor of the Singapore Biggest Marathon event in Dec.

Sorry about the picture as it looks quite small from the picture taken while walking on the railway track. Yes, it is the Singapore 1st Standard Chartered bank at Bukit Panjang area. Opposite the bank is Salvation Army which people can donate their old stuff for sale to raise funds. You also do see quite a lot of construction as LTA is building Downtown line along this part of the railway track.

See those construction items along the railway track. As you notice along the railway track in this area, the roads were built along/very near the railway tracks compared to the southern part of the KTM railway tracks in Singapore. There are also quite a number of schools along the Bukit Panjang/Upper Bukit Timah part of the railway track. Such as CHIJ Bukit Timah, Assumption English school, Fajar Secondary School.

Cashew Road, Chestnut Avenue, Hazel Park. As you notice some of the roads at this area are named after nuts. Haha.

Hmmm…. I wondered what this signal light along Cashew Road area indicates what? The sign shows a gate ahead and there’s a green & red light ahead. What does that means? Stopping/allowing the train to move …

There’s a black & white striped sign located near the Hillview camp site. What does that mean? I guessed it must be related to the sign with a gate.

I was wondering why there were bricks along the track then. I guessed there might be a tunnel or a hole below the track.

As I walked further to the north, I saw 1 station located near Gombak Drive and Bukit Panjang Link. This was 1 of the stations where staff had to give signal to the train to cross over the road safety using the gate to stop the vehicles (cars, trucks and bus 177 and etc) from going to /or of Gombak Drive.

Here’s crossing number 1 located along Gombak Drive. Haha. The gate was demolished when I visited there then. Now I guess the metal rails on this road are removed and become a normal looking road.

The dismantled gate.

The site where the gate poles were located at.

After passing the 1st crossing, I reached this building. I think that was an abandoned Bukit Panjang Station where people could alight from the station to their destination around Bukit Panjang area many years ago before it was closed due to low usage. There was not much furniture unlike the Bukit Timah Train Station. No roof top too.

But there was a small building nearby. I was not sure whether it was the washroom for the KTM staff who controlled the crossing gate nearby.

As I walked further to the north, I saw another similar sign to the 1st signal light. Another crossing ahead I guess.

2nd crossing approaching soon…

Reaching the end of the Upper Bukit Timah Road area…

So strange to see such a plot of land for gardening. But the crops had been removed.

Saw above ground rail line ahead. Guessed it is part of the Light Rapid Transport (LRT) in Bukit Panjang area.

Another small house near the 2nd crossing site.

Control station for the 2nd gate crossing.

Off to cross the 2nd crossing…

Shall stop my part VI (6) of my KTM railway track walking adventures here. Stay tune for more updates.

For my other parts of KTM railway track walking adventures, feel free to read them:

1. My KTM railway tracks walking adventures in Singapore part I (Summary of my journey)

2. My KTM railway tracks walking adventures in Singapore part II (from Silat Avenue near Spooner Road Depot to Alexandra Hospital)

3. My KTM Railway track walking adventures in Singapore part III (from Alexandra Hospital to Buona Vista)

4. My KTM Railway track walking adventures in Singapore part IV (from Buona Vista to Bukit Timah Station)

5. My KTM Railway track walking adventures in Singapore part V (from the Iron truss bridge near the Bukit Timah Station till the other Iron Truss bridge near the Rail Mall

6. My KTM Railway track walking adventures in Singapore part VII (from Ten Mile Junction to level crossing at Sungei Kadut road)

Stay tune for more updates!

5 thoughts on “My railway track walking adventures part VI

    • Most of the tracks are removed and filled with grass patches as I have seen while taking buses passing part of the railway tracks. Maybe you can explore the old Jurong line as some of the rails are still around.

  1. Pingback: My railway track walking adventures part VII | Blending our lives with different colours

  2. Pingback: My railway track walking adventures part V | Blending our lives with different colours

  3. Pingback: My railway track walking adventures part IV | Blending our lives with different colours

Leave a Reply

