My railway track walking adventures part VIII

Sorry for the lacking of updates as I was busy with my project and studies then.

Level Crossing at Sungei Kadut Road!

Welcome back to my railway track walking adventures part VIII (8). This part of the journey will be from 4th level crossing located near Sungei Kadut level crossing to Kranji area.

 reached 4th level crossing at Sungei Kadut Road after a long walk from Ten Mile Junction to Stagmont Ring Road to here along the canal area. It was not an easy walk though.

One of the most dangerous roads I even crossed in my life here. As this place is an industrial area.

Part of the remains of the level crossing dumped at the side of the railway track.

Signalling office for KTM staff.

An area of serenity after crossing the road.

Oh, the hut was the staff’s office area to rest.

Message from KTM train staff who stationed at Sungei Kadut road crossing on the door written in Bahasa Melayu (Malay Language).

Abandoned buildings near the KTM railway tracks…

Beautiful view … Walking along the way.

Approaching next (the 5th) level crossing real soon….

1842 – Structure of the concrete tunnel.

761.5KM away from Butterworth, Penang, Malaysia.

5th level crossing- demolishing. What a pity.

5th level Crossing area at Kranji Road = marks the end of the KTM from Tanjong Pagar to Kranji adventures

As I had no time to explore further up to Kampong Fatimah (old swampy kampong area) before reaching the new Woodlands Train Checkpoint. My walking adventures from Tanjong Pagar to Kranji area ended here as the pathway had to be closed for the removal of tracks.

Summary of my walking adventures (chorus from Nickelback’s photograph):

Every memory of looking out the back door,
I had the photo album spread out on my bedroom floor.
It’s hard to say it, time to say it,
Goodbye, goodbye.
Every memory of walking out the front door,
I found the photo of the friend (the place) that I was looking for.
It’s hard to say it, time to say it,
Goodbye, goodbye.

Shall stop my part VIII(8) of my KTM railway track walking adventures here. 

However, this won’t be the end of the railway track walking adventures as there is still part of the KTM railway tracks left behind from the old Jurong line in Singapore. I even spotted 1 canal bridge near German Centre along Jurong east area at AYE while I was on the bus. There’s some construction near part of the old railway tracks. Some of the railways tracks may be gone for good for Singapore development while some will still remain as part of Singapore history.

I also took buses past Ngee Ann Poly area regularly as I reminded me that the old Jurong line used to pass by the area near the Corona florist shop towards Sunset way direction. I wish to explore those areas when I am free. 

However due to the recent developments in Singapore, we may not be able to see much of the Jurong Line left in Singapore. It will be hard to see the old railway tracks as some of the tracks were either removed or covered up by grasses.

Beside the old Jurong line, there are KTM railway tracks in Peninsula Malaysia (of course not for walking). You can consider to visit Ipoh and/or KL Sentral train station/(s) You can consider taking a train from 1 area in Malaysia to another area. Do take note of the train timings. I was glad that I managed to take KTM train from Malaysia to Tanjong Pagar, Singapore. I may want to take KTM train to explore and enjoy the scenery area the tracks.

For my other parts of KTM railway track walking adventures, feel free to read them:

1. My KTM railway tracks walking adventures in Singapore part I (Summary of my journey)

2. My KTM railway tracks walking adventures in Singapore part II (from Silat Avenue near Spooner Road Depot to Alexandra Hospital)

3. My KTM Railway track walking adventures in Singapore part III (from Alexandra Hospital to Buona Vista)

4. My KTM Railway track walking adventures in Singapore part IV (from Buona Vista to Bukit Timah Station)

5. My KTM Railway track walking adventures in Singapore part V (from Bukit Timah Station to the Iron Truss Bridge near the Rail Mall)

6. My KTM Railway track walking adventures in Singapore part VI (from the Iron Truss Bridge near the Rail Mall to the 2nd Crossing near Ten Mile Junction)

7. My KTM Railway tracking walking adventures in Singapore part VII (from the 2nd Crossing near Ten Mile Junction to 4th level crossing at Sungei Kadut)

Stay tune for more updates!

Leave a Reply

